David Bowie streams The Next Day album on iTunes

You can listen to all of David Bowie’s hotly anticipated comeback album for free at the iTunes store

David Bowie in his music video for Where Are We Now?

David Bowie in his music video for Where Are We Now?

Anyone wanting to hear the new David Bowie can do just that. The singer has placed all 53 minutes of The Next Day, his first album in a decade, on iTunes‘ streaming service.

Despite a slew of favourable reviews, until now fans have only been able to hear Bowie’s two comeback singles, Where Are We Now? and The Stars (Are Out Tonight). In general, the album follows the template set by the latter song – more often upbeat and rocking rather than somber and contemplative.

In his Guardian review of The Next Day, Alexis Petridis noted that several songs contained nods to the singer’s past, particularly the 1979 album Lodger: “The dense web of screaming feedback that ends Where Does the Grass Grow? recalls the climax of Boys Keep Swinging, while the fantastic If You Can See Me has some of the relentless propulsion of Move On.”

However he also noted that The Next Day deserves to be regarded as a fantastic record in its own right, saying: “The Next Day makes you hope it’s not a one-off, that his return continues apace: no mean feat, given that listening to a new album by most of his peers makes you wish they’d stick to playing the greatest hits.”

The album, the singer’s 24th, will not be available to buy until its official release date of 11 March. However, the stream will remain up until that time here.

The Next Day tracklisting

01. The Next Day 3:51
02. Dirty Boys 2:58
03. The Stars (Are Out Tonight) 3:56
04. Love Is Lost 3:57
05. Where Are We Now? 4:08
06. Valentine’s Day 3:01
07. If You Can See Me 3:16
08. I’d Rather Be High 3:53
09. Boss Of Me 4:09
10. Dancing Out In Space 3:24
11. How Does The Grass Grow 4:33
12. (You Will) Set The World On Fire 3:30
13. You Feel So Lonely You Could Die 4:41
14. Heat 4:25

Deluxe version bonus tracks:
15. So She 2:31
16. Plan 2:34
17. I’ll Take You There 2:44

About Gerry Leonard

This entry was posted in David Bowie and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to David Bowie streams The Next Day album on iTunes

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s